Alternate titles

The title “Saint Graziano the Good” sounds so clunky, so cumbersome, so boring. I thought that it was a cute title at the beginning, but I’ve grown to be disappointed with it. If I want my first novel to be even a cult hit, I need to give it a snazzier title, with one caveat: I absolutely refuse to begin the title with a gerund. Those titles suggest a lack of inspiration and individuality.

So, here are some titles off the top of my head:

IN THE WORST OF FAMILIES

THREE MONTHS

MEMOIRS OF THE UNLOVED AND UNWANTED

I DON’T DRINK WINE

AN ITALIAN-CANADIAN MAN

THE GOOD (FOR NOTHING) SON

HOW I DESTROYED MY FAMILY AND SAVED MY LIFE

G.T.A. (GRAZIANO’S TRIUMPH OVER ADVERSITY)

THE FALL AND WINTER OF MY DISCONTENT

WHITE STEEL

A TORONTO SAGA

I’m not very good with titles, so any help is welcome.

Leave a Reply

